74 results   page 1 of 7   >
view sort by
history
cover_9780553397574
Author: George Saunders | Narrator: George Saunders, Various, Nick Offerman and David Sedaris
Release Date: February 14, 2017
The long-awaited first novel from the author of Tenth of December. a moving and original father-son story featuring none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living and dead, historical and invented

February 1862.
cover_9780553397574
cover_9781524736255
Author: Colson Whitehead | Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Release Date: August 02, 2016
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, the #1 New York Times bestseller from Colson Whitehead, a magnificent tour de force chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South

Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia.
cover_9781524736255
cover_9780147526878
Author: Bill Bryson | Narrator: Nathan Osgood
Release Date: January 19, 2016
A loving and hilarious—if occasionally spiky—valentine to Bill Bryson’s adopted country, Great Britain. Prepare for total joy and multiple episodes of unseemly laughter.


Twenty years ago, Bill Bryson went on a trip around Britain to discover and celebrate that green and pleasant land.
cover_9780147526878
cover_9780451486318
Author: Rebecca Skloot | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell and Bahni Turpin
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Now a major motion picture from HBO® starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne.

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells—taken without her knowledge—became one of the most important tools in medicine.
cover_9780451486318
cover_9780451482211
Author: Ta-Nehisi Coates | Narrator: Ta-Nehisi Coates
Release Date: September 08, 2015
Hailed by Toni Morrison as “required reading,” a bold and personal literary exploration of America’s racial history by “the single best writer on the subject of race in the United States” (The New York Observer)

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST | NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • O.
cover_9780451482211
cover_9780307989901
Author: Paula McLain | Narrator: Katharine McEwan
Release Date: July 28, 2015

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR, BOOKPAGE, AND SHELF AWARENESS  “Paula McLain is considered the new star of historical fiction, and for good reason.

cover_9780307989901
cover_9781611762501
Author: Thomas Pynchon | Narrator: George Guidall
Release Date: October 16, 2014
Winner of the 1973 National Book Award, Gravity's Rainbow is a postmodern epic, a work as exhaustively significant to the second half of the twentieth century as Joyce's Ulysses was to the first. Its sprawling, encyclopedic narrative and penetrating analysis of the impact of technology on society make it an intellectual tour de force.
cover_9781611762501
cover_9780307966544
Author: Hampton Sides | Narrator: Arthur Morey
Release Date: August 05, 2014
New York Times bestselling author Hampton Sides returns with a white-knuckle tale of polar exploration and survival in the Gilded Age

In the late nineteenth century, people were obsessed by one of the last unmapped areas of the globe.
cover_9780307966544
cover_9780553397888
Author: Ben Macintyre and John le Carré | Narrator: John Lee
Release Date: July 29, 2014
Master storyteller Ben Macintyre’s most ambitious work to date brings to life the twentieth century’s greatest spy story.


Kim Philby was the greatest spy in history, a brilliant and charming man who rose to head Britain’s counterintelligence against the Soviet Union during the height of the Cold War—while he was secretly working for the enemy.
cover_9780553397888
cover_9780804168434
Author: Markus Zusak | Narrator: Allan Corduner
Release Date: October 15, 2013
The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still.
cover_9780804168434
cover_9781611762020
Author: Elizabeth Gilbert | Narrator: Juliet Stevenson
Release Date: October 01, 2013
A glorious, sweeping novel of desire, ambition, and the thirst for knowledge, from the # 1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love and Committed

Look out for Elizabeth Gilbert’s new book, Big Magic.
cover_9781611762020
cover_9781611761696
Author: Daniel James Brown | Narrator: Edward Herrmann
Release Date: June 04, 2013
The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the forthcoming PBS documentary “Boys of ‘36”

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.
cover_9781611761696