173 results   page 1 of 15   >
view sort by
Sports & Recreation
cover_9781984841117
Author: Tyler Kepner | Narrator: Tyler Kepner
Release Date: April 02, 2019
From the New York Times baseball columnist, an enchanting, enthralling history of the national pastime as told through the craft of pitching, based on years of archival research and interviews with more than three hundred people from Hall of Famers to the stars of today

The baseball is an amazing plaything.
cover_9781984841117
cover_9781984840684
Author: Scott Douglas and Meb Keflezighi
Release Date: March 19, 2019
Four-time Olympic marathoner Meb Keflezighi shares his lessons on life, family, faith, and running through a reflection on each of the 26 marathons he's run in his storied career.

When four-time Olympian Meb Keflezighi ran his final marathon in New York City on November 5, 2017, it marked the end of an extraordinary distance-running career.
cover_9781984840684
cover_9780525637585
Author: Katie Arnold
Release Date: March 12, 2019
In the tradition of Wild and H Is for Hawk, a former Outside magazine writer tells her story—of fathers and daughters, grief and renewal, adventure and obsession, and the power of running to change your life.

I’m running to forget, and to remember.
cover_9780525637585
cover_9781984840578
Author: Julian Borra and Laird Hamilton
Release Date: March 12, 2019
In this follow-up to his New York Times bestselling book Force of Nature, surfing legend Laird Hamilton condenses his worldview into three simple blocks of thinking, feeling, and doing.

Big-wave surfer, fitness icon, and entrepreneur Laird Hamilton reveals the secrets behind his success and breaks down the principles that have motivated his extraordinary life in Liferider--a prescriptive narrative that condenses Hamilton's unique worldview into its three distinct elements.
cover_9781984840578
cover_9780525594352
Author: Mark Synnott
Release Date: March 05, 2019
"One of the most compelling accounts of a climb and the climbing ethos that I've ever read." --Sebastian Junger

The Impossible Climb climaxes with Alex Honnold's unprecedented, almost unimaginable feat. a 3,000-foot vertical climb up El Capitan in Yosemite, without a rope.
cover_9780525594352
cover_9780525643661
Author: David Halberstam | Narrator: J. D. Jackson
Release Date: December 04, 2018
From The Breaks of the Game to Summer of '49, David Halberstam has brought the perspective of a great historian, the inside knowledge of a dogged sportswriter, and the love of a fan to bear on some of the most mythic players and teams in the annals of American sport.
cover_9780525643661
cover_9781984885463
Author: John Feinstein | Narrator: John Feinstein
Release Date: November 13, 2018
A major new book from #1 New York Times bestseller and sports-writing legend John Feinstein, QUARTERBACK dives deep into the most coveted and hallowed position in the NFL - exploring the stories of five top quarterbacks and taking readers inside their unique experiences of playing the position and holding the keys to their multi-billion-dollar teams.
cover_9781984885463
cover_9780525633419
Author: Bill Buford | Narrator: Bill Buford
Release Date: October 23, 2018
They have names like Barmy Bernie, Daft Donald, and Steamin' Sammy. They like lager (in huge quantities), the Queen, football clubs (especially Manchester United), and themselves. Their dislike encompasses the rest of the known universe, and England's soccer thugs express it in ways that range from mere vandalism to riots that terrorize entire cities.
cover_9780525633419
cover_9780525640011
Author: Gary M. Pomerantz | Narrator: Gary M. Pomerantz
Release Date: October 23, 2018
Out of the greatest dynasty in American professional sports history, an intimate story of race, mortality, and regret

About to turn ninety, Bob Cousy, the Hall of Fame Boston Celtics captain who led the team to its first six championships on an unparalleled run, has much to look back on in contentment.
cover_9780525640011
cover_9780525642138
Author: Marcellus Wiley | Narrator: Marcellus Wiley
Release Date: October 23, 2018
Ex-NFL player, gentleman scholar, and Fox Sports personality Marcellus Wiley sucks you into a world of inner-city violence, Ivy League intrigue, and pro-football escapades that's one part touching, one part hilarious, and all parts impossible to put down.
cover_9780525642138
cover_9780525640134
Author: Michael Sokolove | Narrator: Joshua Kane
Release Date: September 25, 2018
From acclaimed New York Times Magazine author Michael Sokolove, the astonishing inside story of the epic corruption scandal that has rocked the NCAA and exposed the rot and hypocrisy at the heart of big-time college sports.

At a lavish annual event in late August 2017, the University of Louisville athletic director, who made more than $5 million in compensation in 2016, announced an extension of his school's sponsorship deal with Adidas.
cover_9780525640134
cover_9780525529385
Author: Rafe Bartholomew, Dan Klores and Jackie MacMullan | Narrator: Various
Release Date: September 18, 2018
A sweeping and revelatory history of basketball, drawing upon hundreds of hours of interviews with the greatest players, coaches, executives, and journalists in the history of the game.

In an effort to tell the complete story of basketball in all its fascinating dimensions, acclaimed authors Jackie Macmullan, Rafe Bartholomew and Dan Klores have compiled nearly a thousand hours' worth of interviews with a staggering number of basketball greats.
cover_9780525529385