210 results   page 1 of 18   >
view sort by
Science
cover_9780525594178
Author: Carl Zimmer
Release Date: May 29, 2018
Award-winning, celebrated New York Times columnist and science writer Carl Zimmer presents a history of our understanding of heredity in this sweeping, resonating overview of a force that shaped human society--a force set to shape our future even more radically.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525594178
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525594178
cover_9780525633495
Author: Edward O. Wilson
Release Date: May 15, 2018
"A dazzling journey across the sciences and humanities in search of deep laws to unite them." --The Wall Street Journal

One of our greatest living scientists--and the winner of two Pulitzer Prizes for On Human Nature and The Ants--gives us a work of visionary importance that may be the crowning achievement of his career.
$20
ISBN: 9780525633495
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525633495
cover_9780525626077
Author: Carlo Rovelli
Release Date: May 08, 2018
A concise, elegant exploration of time from the author of the international bestseller Seven Brief Lessons on Physics

Why do we remember the past and not the future. What does it mean for time to "flow". Do we exist in time or does time exist in us.
cover_9780525626077
cover_9780525530060
Author: Kirk Wallace Johnson
Release Date: April 24, 2018
A rollicking true-crime adventure and a thought-provoking exploration of the human drive to possess natural beauty for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.

On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music, twenty-year-old American flautist Edwin Rist boarded a train for a suburban outpost of the British Museum of Natural History.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525530060
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525530060
cover_9780525527572
Author: Zach Schonbrun
Release Date: April 17, 2018
Athletic genius explained. A groundbreaking new perspective on the science of elite sporting performance.

Why couldn't Michael Jordan, master athlete that he was, hit a baseball. Why can't modern robotics come close to replicating the dexterity of a five-year-old.
$20
ISBN: 9780525527572
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525527572
cover_9780525531975
Author: Lucy Jones | Narrator: Lucy Jones
Release Date: April 17, 2018
By the world-renowned seismologist, a riveting history of natural disasters, their impact on our culture, and new ways of thinking about the ones to come

Earthquakes, floods, tsunamis, hurricanes, volcanoes--they stem from the same forces that give our planet life.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525531975
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525531975
cover_9780525588603
Author: Carlos Magdalena | Narrator: Roy McMillan
Release Date: April 10, 2018
An impassioned memoir of saving extraordinary plants on the brink of extinction, by a scientist who has been called a "codebreaker" (Telegraph) and "an inspiration" (Jane Goodall)

Carlos Magdalena is not your average horticulturist.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525588603
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525588603
cover_9780525527008
Author: Robert Kurson | Narrator: Ray Porter
Release Date: April 03, 2018
The inside, lesser-known story of NASA's boldest and riskiest mission. Apollo 8, mankind's first journey to the Moon on Christmas in 1968. A riveting account of three heroic astronauts who took one of the most dangerous space flights ever, from the New York Times bestselling author of Shadow Divers.
cover_9780525527008
cover_9780525587934
Author: Katherine Harmon Courage
Release Date: April 03, 2018
A science journalist shows us why and how we should be eating for the 300 trillion bacteria our bodies depend on to keep us healthy.

In Cultured, Katherine Harmon Courage investigates the essential role our gut--or as we now know it's more accurately called, the microbiome--plays in our overall health and well-being.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525587934
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525587934
cover_9780147521941
Author: Leonard Mlodinow | Narrator: Leonard Mlodinow
Release Date: March 20, 2018
From the best-selling author of Subliminal and The Drunkard's Walk, a groundbreaking new look at the neuroscience of change—and how elastic thinking can help us thrive in a world changing faster than ever before.
 
With rapid technological innovation leading the charge, today’s world is transforming itself at an extraordinary and unprecedented pace.
cover_9780147521941
cover_9780525527756
Author: Lone Frank | Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Release Date: March 20, 2018
The electrifying, forgotten history of Robert Heath's brain pacemaker, investigating the origins and ethics of one of today's most promising medical breakthroughs. deep brain stimulation

The technology invented by psychiatrist Robert G. Heath at Tulane University in the 1950s and '60s has been described as one of "the most controversial yet largely undocumented experiments in US history"--controversial to us because Heath's research subjects included incarcerated convicts and gay men who wished to be "cured" of their sexual preference; controversial in its day because his work was allegedly part of MKUltra, the CIA's notorious "mind control" project.
$20
ISBN: 9780525527756
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525527756
cover_9780525529774
Author: Steven Pinker | Narrator: Arthur Morey
Release Date: February 27, 2018
The follow-up to Pinker's groundbreaking The Better Angels of Our Nature presents the big picture of human progress. people are living longer, healthier, freer, and happier lives, and while our problems are formidable, the solutions lie in the Enlightenment ideal of using reason and science.
cover_9780525529774