472 results   page 1 of 40   >
view sort by
Political Science
cover_9780525627616
Author: Justin Lee
Release Date: August 14, 2018
A guide to learning how to communicate with people who have diametrically opposed opinions from you, how to empathize with them, and how to (possibly) change their minds

America is more polarized than ever. Whether the issue is Donald Trump, healthcare, abortion, gun control, breastfeeding, or even DC vs Marvel, it feels like you can't voice an opinion without ruffling someone's feathers.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525627616
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525627616
cover_9780525641582
Author: David D. Kirkpatrick | Narrator: David D. Kirkpatrick
Release Date: August 07, 2018
A candid narrative of how and why the Arab Spring sparked, then failed, and the truth about America's role in that failure and the subsequent military coup that put Sisi in power--from the Middle East correspondent of the New York Times.

In 2011, Egyptians of all sects, ages, and social classes shook off millennia of autocracy, then elected a Muslim Brotherhood president.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525641582
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525641582
cover_9780525499473
Author: Reihan Salam
Release Date: July 31, 2018
Will the America of the future be peaceful and united, or it will be wracked by intense ethnic and class conflicts that will undermine our most cherished ideals. Reihan Salam, one of today’s brightest young conservatives, argues that the answer hinges on how we as a society choose to manage immigration.
cover_9780525499473
cover_9780525635017
Author: Michiko Kakutani
Release Date: July 17, 2018
From Pulitzer Prize-winner Michiko Kakutani comes an incisive manifesto on America's retreat from reason.
 
Over the last three decades, Michiko Kakutani has been writing about the demise of objective truth in popular culture, academia, and contemporary politics.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525635017
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525635017
cover_9780525526483
Author: Annie Lowrey
Release Date: July 10, 2018
A brilliantly reported, global look at universal basic income—a stipend given to every citizen—and why it might be necessary in our age of rising inequality, persistent poverty, and dazzling technology.
 
Imagine if every month the government deposited $1,000 into your bank account, with nothing expected in return.
$17.50
ISBN: 9780525526483
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525526483
cover_9780525636564
Author: Beck Dorey-Stein
Release Date: July 10, 2018
The compulsively readable, behind-the-scenes memoir that takes listeners inside the Obama White House, through the eyes of a young staffer learning the ropes, falling in love, and finding her place in the world.

In 2012, Beck Dorey-Stein was just scraping by in DC when a posting on Craigslist landed her, improbably, in the Oval Office as one of Barack Obama's stenographers.
cover_9780525636564
cover_9780525633556
Author: Mona Charen
Release Date: June 26, 2018
Author of the New York Times bestseller Useful Idiots and popular columnist Mona Charen takes a close, reasoned look at the aggressive feminist agenda undermining the success and happiness of men and women across the country

In this smart, deeply necessary critique, Mona Charen unpacks the ways feminism fails us at home, in the workplace, and in our personal relationships--by promising that we can have it all, do it all, and be it all.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525633556
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525633556
cover_9780525635420
Author: David E. Sanger
Release Date: June 26, 2018
From the premiere New York Times Washington correspondent, a stunning and incisive look into how cyberwarfare is influencing elections, threatening national security, and bringing us to the brink of global war.

Behind the Russian cyberattacks that may have thrown the 2016 election; behind the Sony hack; behind mysterious power outages around the world and the disappearance of thousands of personnel records from poorly guarded government servers are the traces of a new and powerful weapon, one that has the potential to remake global conflict like nothing since the invention of the atomic bomb.
cover_9780525635420
cover_9780525492603
Author: Mona Hanna-Attisha
Release Date: June 19, 2018
From the heroic pediatrician who rallied a community and brought the fight for justice to national attention comes a powerful firsthand account of the Flint water crisis--a dramatic story of failed democracy and inspiring citizen advocacy and action.
cover_9780525492603
cover_9780525633532
Author: Jay W. Richards
Release Date: June 19, 2018
Bestselling author and economist Jay W. Richards makes the definitive case for how the free market and individual responsibility can save the American Dream in an age of automation and mass disruption.

For two and a half centuries, America has been held together by the belief that if you work hard and conduct yourself responsibly in this country, you will be able to prosper and leave a better life for your children.
cover_9780525633532
cover_9781984827838
Author: Ben Rhodes | Narrator: Ben Rhodes
Release Date: June 12, 2018
From one of Obama’s closest aides comes a revelatory, behind-the-scenes account of his presidency—and how idealism can confront harsh reality and still survive—in the tradition of Arthur Schlesinger, Jr.’s A Thousand Days.
cover_9781984827838
cover_9780525637875
Author: Steven Brill | Narrator: Dan Woren
Release Date: May 29, 2018
From the award-winning journalist and best-selling author of America's Bitter Pill. a tour de force examination of 1) how and why major American institutions no longer serve us as they should, causing a deep rift between the vulnerable majority and the protected few, and 2) how some individuals and organizations are laying the foundation for real, lasting change.
$22.50
ISBN: 9780525637875
Unabridged Download
cover_9780525637875