43 results   page 1 of 4   >
view sort by
Social Science - Women's Studies
cover_9780525640448
Author: Cathy Guisewite
Release Date: April 02, 2019
From the iconic creator of the "Cathy" comic strip comes a collection of funny, warm, and wise essays in the style of Nora Ephron and Erma Bombeck, centered on the particular challenge of caring for aging parents and growing children, all while trying not to lose oneself in the process.
cover_9780525640448
cover_9781984840936
Author: Megan K. Stack
Release Date: April 02, 2019
A National Book Award finalist's devastating account of raising her children abroad with the help of Chinese and Indian women who are also working mothers, a compromise that leads her to examine the underbelly of cheap domestic labor--and to realize that the work of the household is where gender inequality begins

When Megan Stack left her prestigious job as a foreign correspondent to have a baby and work from her home in Beijing writing a book, she quickly realized that childcare and housework would consume the time she needed to write.
cover_9781984840936
cover_9781984845917
Author: Emily Nagoski, PhD and Amelia Nagoski, DMA
Release Date: March 12, 2019
This groundbreaking book explains why women experience burnout differently than men--and provides a simple, science-based plan to help women minimize stress, manage emotions, and live a more joyful life.

The gap between what it's really like to be a woman and what people expect women to be is a primary cause of burnout, because we exhaust ourselves trying to close the space between the two.
cover_9781984845917
cover_9781984829337
Author: Reshma Saujani | Narrator: Reshma Saujani
Release Date: February 05, 2019
New York Times bestselling author and Girls Who Code founder/CEO inspires us to discover the power of female bravery.

Do you run yourself ragged trying to not just do it all, but do it all flawlessly. Do you lose sleep ruminating over small mistakes or worrying that something you said or did might have offended someone.
cover_9781984829337
cover_9781984844750
Author: Maria Popova
Release Date: February 05, 2019
Figuring explores the complexities of love and the human search for truth and meaning through the interconnected lives of several historical figures across four centuries--beginning with the astronomer Johannes Kepler, who discovered the laws of planetary motion, and ending with the marine biologist and author Rachel Carson, who catalyzed the environmental movement.
cover_9781984844750
cover_9781984847232
Author: Elizabeth Weitzman
Release Date: February 05, 2019
A charmingly illustrated and timely tribute to the women who broke glass ceilings in film and television, debuting during an historic time of change in the entertainment industry.
 
Renegade Women in Film and TV blends stunning illustrations, fascinating biographical profiles, and exclusive interviews with icons like Barbra Streisand, Rita Moreno, and Sigourney Weaver to celebrate the accomplishments of 50 extraordinary women throughout the history of entertainment.
cover_9781984847232
cover_9781984884459
Author: Arlie Hochschild and Anne Machung | Narrator: Hillary Huber
Release Date: January 22, 2019
An updated edition of a standard in its field that remains relevant more than twenty years after its original publication.

More than twenty years ago, sociologist and University of California, Berkeley, professor Arlie Hochschild set off a tidal wave of conversation and controversy with his bestselling book, The Second Shift.
cover_9781984884459
cover_9780525643364
Author: Jane Sherron de Hart | Narrator: Suzanne Toren
Release Date: October 16, 2018
The first full life—private, public, legal, philosophical—of the 107th Supreme Court Justice, one of the most profound and profoundly transformative legal minds of our time; a book fifteen years in work, written with the cooperation of Ruth Bader Ginsburg herself and based on many interviews with the justice, her husband, her children, her friends, and her associates.
cover_9780525643364
cover_9781984833549
Author: Blair Imani and Tegan and Sara | Narrator: Various, January LaVoy and Blair Imani
Release Date: October 16, 2018
An inspiring and radical celebration of 70 women, girls, and gender nonbinary people who have changed--and are still changing--the world, from the Civil Rights Movement and Stonewall riots through Black Lives Matter and beyond.

With a radical and inclusive approach to history, Modern HERstory profiles and celebrates seventy women and nonbinary champions of progressive social change in a bold audiobook for all ages.
cover_9781984833549
cover_9781984833464
Author: Cristen Conger and Caroline Ervin | Narrator: Cristen Conger and Caroline Ervin
Release Date: October 02, 2018
A funny, fact-driven, and illustrated field guide to how to live a feminist life in today's world, from the hosts of the hit Unladylike podcast.

Get ready to get unladylike with this field guide to the what's, why's, and how's of intersectional feminism and practical hell-raising.
cover_9781984833464
cover_9780735210080
Author: Daisy Khan | Narrator: Daisy Khan
Release Date: April 24, 2018
The dramatic, spiritual memoir of a prominent Muslim woman working to empower women and girls across the world—for readers of Malala Yousafzai and Azar Nafisi.

Raised in a progressive Muslim family in the shadows of the Himalayan mountains, where she attended a Catholic girls’ school, Daisy experienced culture shock when her family sent her to the States to attend high school in a mostly Jewish Long Island suburb.
cover_9780735210080
cover_9780525526346
Author: Ken Armstrong and T. Christian Miller | Narrator: Hillary Huber, Ken Armstrong and T. Christian Miller
Release Date: February 06, 2018
A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE

Two Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists tell the riveting true story of Marie, a teenager who was charged with lying about having been raped, and the detectives who followed a winding path to arrive at the truth.
cover_9780525526346